Bio Dr Susan Nicholson - Aspivix's Chairwoman

Dr. Susan Nicholson

Chairwoman of Aspivix’s Board | Scientific Advisor | Former VP, Women’s Health, at Johnson & Johnson

Dr. Nicholson joins Aspivix’s board as an independent director and will serve as chair of the board.  Dr. Nicholson was most recently Vice President of Women’s Health at Johnson & Johnson.  She has passion and expertise in identifying high impact healthcare innovation, leading near-term action plans that enable long-term value. She is an expert in translating innovative ideas into executable, patient-centric, business plans. Susan is industry known as a clear thinking, fearless disruptor and change maker who inspires others into action for impact.

Dr. Nicholson is a business-oriented physician-scientist with a record of successfully shaping clinical care in multiple healthcare areas.  She is a medical doctor with 25+ years in biotech and big pharma, medical devices and consumer health including 16 years at Johnson & Johnson across sectors and functions.  In her most recent role as Vice President of Women’s Health at J&J, Susan and her team redefined serving women by championing the use of women-centric science across the J&J enterprise.  A critical part of her team’s work was developing key maternal health digital tools and programs targeting the root causes of the US maternal mortality crisis.


Susan has an undergraduate degree from the University of Pennsylvania with a major in biophysics, and medical training from the University of Pittsburgh.  She obtained fellowship training at New York Hospital-Cornell Weill Medical College in internal medicine, infectious diseases, and clinical pharmacology.  Susan spent 7 years in bench research, including as a Howard Hughes Research Scholar at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda, Maryland.


Currently, Dr. Nicholson is a scientific advisor, and independent board member continuing her work to advance healthcare, particularly ensuring high quality equitable care for women.

Meet our other board members: